Don't Miss

2021/22 WEABL Awards – All Conference Teams Announced

The 2021/22 WEABL All Conference teams have been announced, with ten different programmes all contributing selections.

Selected by the teams themselves, the top 10 most voted for players are placed into the All-Conference first and second teams to recognise their standout performances across the season.

All Conference 1st Teams

Praise Egharevba (29.3eff, 22.7PPG) and Mariam Olawoyin (16.0eff, 3.8APG) helped Nottingham to a perfect regular season and understandably earn recognition through the Northern conference first team.

Katie Januszewska joins them, ranking fourth for efficiency at 18.0 off the back of an average of 18 points per game.

Megan Lovatt was a key cog in Derby’s run to the playoffs, her 21.0PPG closed as second best across the WEABL regular season.

Sheffield’s Abbey Whitehouse also made the cut, enjoying a team-high 15.4PPG as the South Yorkshire programme locked up the north’s #3 seed for the playoffs.

Unbeaten South conference winners City of London Academy send two standouts to the All 1st team, with forward Isi Ozzy-Momodu (11.9PPG, 10.4RPG) joining up with guard Funmi Amode (15.7PPG, 8.6RPG).

Fatmata Janneh enjoyed an eye-catching season for Barking Abbey across multiple competitions, earning her recognition here in the WEABL.

Copleston’s Liv Forster was one of the top offensive options in the league, eventually closing with 19.8PPG as Copleston sealed third place in the Southern conference.

Oaklands’ guard Daisy Porter enjoyed a solid 18.0PPG on the way to ranking in the top 10 for efficiency, cementing her place as well.

All Conference 2nd Teams

Manchester’s struggles in 2021/22 certainly couldn’t be laid at the door of athletic guard Charlie Wroe, who’s league third best 20.4PPG helped her to a place in the North’s second team.

Derby’s Vanessa Obanor coupled solid defence with an impressive 17.8 efficiency rating to seal a spot, whilst Sheffield’s Jasmine Graham also gets a nod, improving throughout the year to close on 12.6PPG and 7.0RPG.

Charnwood duo Alex Shaw and Erin Powell round out the five, with Shaw (20.0eff, 18.7PPG, 13.7RPG) putting up some strong numbers.

First year forward Powell also enjoyed a productive campaign, averaging a double-double of 10.3 points and 13.0 rebounds per outing.

Looking at the South conference 2nd team, it’s double delight for Itchen with Anna Nevison (12.9PPG, 6.5RPG, 3.0APG) and Faye Endean (17.3PPG, 6.2RPG, 3.6SPG) both being singled out.

CoLA forward Molly Lavin takes her team’s selections this year to three, making the cut after averaging an efficiency 7.3PPG with an impressive 57.1 FG% to go with 5.4RPG.

Oaklands’ Kizzy Spence earns her spot after playing a part in pushing the Wolves to the runners up spot, with Copleston’s Saruna Gudza also a solid pick. She led the WEABL with 5.9 assists per game this year.