Don't Miss

Charnwood College vs City of London Academy

Charnwood College advanced to their third straight WEABL final with a 91-50 victory over City of London Academy on Wednesday.

Holly Winterburn and Ebony Horton shared 18 points apiece to help their side avenge last year’s final defeat with Megan Jones adding 16.

It was a high tempo start from Charnwood with first seven points been scored by Megan Jones supported by 11 points in the quarter by Winterburn. CoLA responded well with couple of scores of their own from Kadija Conteh and Chandera Jones-Aryeh to keep in touch with Charnwood.

The second quarter saw Charnwood increase the defensive intensity led by Ebony Horton which led to some quick scores. Both teams were playing at a high speed and scoring from Mia Jaye Sarkodee-Adoo kept City of London in the game, however seven three pointers from Charnwood allowed the score to extend and go into the half time at 47-27.

“March is all about surviving and advancing and that’s exactly what we have been doing,” said Horton. “We locked in on defence and shared the ball on offence, which led to us flowing offensively and knocking down shots.”

After the half it was a similar story, Charnwood kept up their defensive intensity and looked to push in transition further good shooting from them allowed the score to creep further ahead finishing the third 74-35.

Coach Jackson and City of London kept playing hard and went for it in the fourth with changes in defensive tactics which caused Charnwood few issues and led to scores for CoLA, but the game was won.

“Today’s win means so much – getting back to the finals to finish off what we didn’t manage to get done last year,” said Jones.

“It was a team effort today, and everyone was contributing. Our offence flowed well and our defence was at a high intensity.”

Megan Haines led CoLA with 17 points with Sarkodee-Adoo adding 12 points.

Charnwood will now face Barking Abbey in the WEABL National finals in a repeat of the 2016 Championship clash.

Horton & Winterburn 18
Jones 16

M Haines – 17
M Sarkodee – Adoo – 12
C jones-Aryeh – 5