Don't Miss

WEABL announces All-Conference teams for 2019/20

The WEABL All-Conference teams have now been confirmed, with 10 players selected in the North and South for 2019/20.

In the Northern Conference, five different programmes contributed a player to the 1st team, headlined by Sheffield’s WEABL scoring leader Abbey Whitehouse (22.3ppg, 12.6rpg, 23.3eff).

Derby’s Most Improved Player and Defensive Player of the Year winner Kenny Hamilton (10.3ppg, 15.4rpg, 21.7eff) also earns a place, as does Manchester’s Jade Mbam (14.3ppg, 7.9rpg, 11.3eff) as she grabs her 2nd straight 1st team selection.

Molly James (10.4ppg, 3.4apg, 4.8eff) is Charnwood’s contribution, and Nottingham’s Mariam Olawoyin (18.1ppg, 8.0rpg, 20.3eff) rounds the side out.

In the Southern Conference, Copleston duo Cameron Taylor-Wills (14.3ppg, 10.2rpg, 14.9eff) and Ella Pearson (19.1ppg, 9.8rpg, 20.1eff) were both worthy inclusions, with Taylor-Willis a returning 1st teamer from a year ago and Pearson enjoying the step up for the Southern 2nd team in 2018/19.

Sitota Gines Espinosa (14.2ppg, 4.0spg, 12.8eff) and Carmen Segura Moreno (14.3ppg, 4.0rpg, 8.1eff) are top seed John Madejski Academy’s contributions to the side, and the five is rounded out by Amelia Sandie (12.0ppg, 3.7rpg, 7.8eff) from WEABL finalists City of London Academy.

The Northern Conference 2nd team involves Zoe Kateregga 19.7ppg, 14.1rpg, 19.8eff) and Ava Patchesa (18.5ppg, 3.7spg, 16.5eff), taking Sheffield College to three players in the Conference teams this year.

Nottingham’s Shaniya Rose (13.4ppg, 9.4rpg, 15.2eff) was deemed worthy of inclusion by fellow coaches, as was Charnwood’s Alex Baker (10.3ppg, 3.8bpg, 13.3eff). Celina Eisenhardt (21.2ppg, 11.4rpg, 13.0rpg) is Myerscough’s lone selection after a 2nd team berth in 2018/19.

The Southern Conference 2nd team is highlighted by a pair of players already mentioned this week in CoLA’s Most Improved Player Simona Henshaw (11.4ppg, 5.2rpg, 6.1eff) and Copleston’s Defensive Player of the Year Susannah Rafiu (10.0ppg, 9.2rpg, 12.2eff).

#4 seed Barking contribute a pair of recipients in the form of Tamara Fournillier-Onadeko (10.0ppg, 9.4rpg, 13.1eff) and Jolicia Cadogan (12.0ppg, 3.8rpg, 7.0eff), and Oaklands’ Louise Rouse (17.6ppg, 15.5rpg, 23.9eff) earns her place after a strong season statistically.

Tomorrow is the final day of our WEABL awards as we announce both the Northern and Southern Conference MVPs at 10:00am.

The WEABL final between Copleston and City of London Academy is next Wednesday, 18 March, with a 2:30pm tip. Entry is free for all spectators and that includes the ability to also watch the ABL (12:00pm) and EABL (5:00pm) finals on the same day.