Don't Miss

Voting process announced for 2019/20 Academy End of Season Awards

As the regular season nears its conclusion in the WEABL, the process has begun to recognise the best under 19 players in the country as part of the WEABL end of season awards.

Coaches recently completed a process to nominate the top three players from their programme, along with their own team’s candidates for the Defensive Player of the Year and Most Improved Player awards.

The nominees were then added to a voting form for all coaches to rank their top 10 players, without voting for anyone from their own programme, for the Most Valuable Player award and All-Conference 1st and 2nd Teams.

Teams will also rank their top three coaches for Coach of the Year and top three for Defensive Player of the Year and Most Improved Player.

The voting deadline for all programmes is Friday 21 February. Once all the votes are in, the award winners will be decided and then announced the week before the Academy Finals, beginning on Monday 9 March.

Last year’s winners

MVP – Charnwood’s Holly Winterburn was a runaway winner with a final efficiency rating a staggering 32.2 in the North, while Megan Haines won the award after leading CoLA to the South Conference title dropping 15.6ppg on the year.

Defensive Player of the Year – Myerscough’s Kyra Smith was last year’s North winner with 3.0 steals and 8.8 defensive rebounds per game, while Copleston’s Esther Little took the award in the South, pulling down 8.9 defensive rebounds a game.

Most Improved Player – Shaniya Rose was recognised as the North Conference’s Most Improved Player as the Nottingham star averaged 13.0ppg and 12.1rpg and Anabel Latorre Ciria was selected as the South Conference’s MIP after a strong season with John Madejski Academy.

Coach of the Year – The winner of the North Conference award was Myerscough’s Mike Bernard after helping the North-West programme to a 4-5 regular record and a place in the playoffs.

In the South, CoLA’s Jackson Gibbons was rewarded for securing the Conference title after going 8-2 on the year.

2018/19 Team of the Year

WEABL 1st Team All Conference 

Northern Conference

Holly Winterburn, Megan Jones (both Charnwood College), Kyra Smith (Myerscough College), Chloe Andrews, Jade Mbam (both Manchester Mystics Academy) 

Southern Conference  

Megan Haines (City of London Academy), Esther Little, Cameron Taylor Willis (both Copleston High School), Loren Christie (Barking Abbey), Anabel Latorre Ciria (John Madejski Academy) 

WEABL 2nd Team All Conference

Northern Conference

Remi Idowu (Manchester Mystics Academy), Celine Eisenhardt, Katie Simpson (both Myerscough College), Rebecca Morrison, Holly Wright (both Charnwood Academy) 

Southern Conference

Jade Guidolin-Duncan, Maya Hyacienth (both City of London Academy), Precious Adediran, Lilly Annim (both Barking Abbey), Ella Pearson (Copleston High School)