Don't Miss

2015-16 WEABL Regular Season Award Winners Announced

The WEABL is pleased to announce the full list of winners in the 2015-16 WEABL regular season awards, which were voted on by team coaches from across the league.

Charnwood’s Ruchae Walton has been named the 2015-16 Player of the Year after an impressive season in leading her side to an 8-2 record in the regular season. Walton averaged 9.6 points per game along with 8.5 rebounds, whilst finishing fourth in the league in the Efficiency charts, and second in 2PT FG% (53.5). Walton was also the Player of the Week in Week 13 after recording a double-double of 14 points and 15 rebounds in a win at Copleston.

“I feel privileged to receive the first WEABL Player of the Year award,” Walton said. “I am grateful to receive this honour as it shows that all the hard work I put in did pay off but I’d like to accept this award on behalf of everyone who has worked with me this year.

“I would like to thank my coach Krumesh Patel for pushing me to become a better person on and off the basketball court, my family for encouraging me to work hard and stay focused. Lastly, a massive shout out to my team at Charnwood College, without those girls we wouldn’t have achieved half of what we did this season.

“I can’t wait for next season!”

Walton headlines the All-WEABL First Team and is joined by Copleston team-mates Harriet Welham and Ashleigh Pink. Welham was the leading scorer in the league after averaging an impressive 24.8 points per game with multiple 30+ point games, while Pink topped the stats charts in assists (4.6) and steals (3.4) whilst recording the only triple-double this season in her Player of the Week winning performance in Week 15.

The other two spots in the team go to CoLA’s Ire Ozzy-Momodu and Barking Abbey’s Chloe Gaynor, who also earned the MVP award in last month’s Championship Final. Ozzy-Momodu ranked third in efficiency rating with 13.1 and also made the top 10 in numerous other categories including scoring (8th), rebounding (4th), blocked shots (9th) and 2PT FG% (1st).

Meanwhile, Gaynor led the league in blocks with 1.4 per game, ranked second in steals with 2.4 per outing and averaged 10.3 rebounds (2nd) aided by a dominant 19-point, 19-rebound display in Week 10.

It is City of London Academy’s Jackson Gibbons who picks up Coach of the Year leading his squad to a 7-3 record with the third seed. CoLA led the WEABL in offensive rating, points per game, 2PT FG%, free throw percentage, true shooting percentage, assists, assists to turnover ratio, and steals.

“I’m pretty much speechless,” Gibbons said. “Our Academy was just so humbled to be in the WEABL this year with such great company in the first place. We have a truly special group of young ladies this season, I think all the coaches in the WEABL feel that way about their squads and that’s whats so amazing about what Basketball England have created. Playing academy basketball really does unite teams and institutions in a way I haven’t seen in the UK.

“Hats off to all the other coaches in the league, I think we are all deserving of the award in our own way and it’s not something I take lightly, would also like to thank everyone at CoLA for continued support, our coaching staff, the league organisers and all of our players too. Can’t wait for next season already.”

Jessica Eadsforth-Yates has been named as the Defensive Player of the Year after narrowly edging out team-mate Walton for the award as her efforts on the defensive end were recognised by the coaches around the league.

2015-16 WEABL Regular Season Award Winners

Player of the Year: Ruchae Walton (Charnwood College)

Coach of the Year: Jackson Gibbons (City of London Academy)

Defensive Player of the Year: Jessica Eadsforth-Yates (Charnwood College)

All-WEABL First Team: Ashleigh Pink, Harriet Welham (both Copleston); Ruchae Walton (Charnwood College); Ire Ozzy-Momodu (CoLA); Chloe Gaynor (Barking Abbey)

The inaugural WEABL season came to an end last week when Barking Abbey defeated Charnwood College in the final to be crowned the first-ever champions.

Regular season stats leaders here.

Please note: All awards were based on regular season only, and First team was voted on regardless of position.